Mrunal Manmay Dash

Senior BJP leader and Bhubaneswar MP, Aparajita Sarangi received a rousing welcome upon her arrival at Bhubaneswar airport on Thursday. She arrived from Kigali, Rwanda after winning the Inter Parliamentary Union (IPU) seat for India first time in almost two decades.

Speaking to OTV, Sarangi said it is not her win, rather it is the win of all the people who wished her to win at Kigali.

“I would like to thank Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla who recommended my name to represent our country. Credit for this win also goes to Prime Minister Narendra Modi whose popularity knows no bound in the globe.”

India has become a member of the IPU after defeating its Indonesian counterpart by six votes. While Sarangi secured 12 votes in her favour, Indonesia’s Fadli Zon got only six votes.

Out of 190 parliaments in the world, IPU has membership of 178 parliaments. Set up in 1887, the IPU facilitates parliamentary diplomacy and empowers parliaments and parliamentarians to promote peace, democracy and sustainable development around the world.

The committee did not have any representative from India for the last 20 years. Najma Heptullah was the last Indian representative in the committee.

(Reported By Chandan Paikray, OTV)