Vikash Sharma

Two women members of the banned CPI (Maoist) surrendered before the Director General (DG) of Odisha Police in Koraput on Sunday. The ultras have been identified as Debe Podiami alias Gangi and Gita Podiami alias Rajita.

The duo reportedly decided to lay down their arms after getting attracted towards the rehabilitation scheme of the State government. The setting up of police stations and new BSF camps in Koraput and Malkangiri are also seen as major factors in creating trouble in the movement of the left-wing extremisms to carry out their operations.

Senior police officials said that Debe Podiami (ACM) of Gumma area hails from Malkangiri district. She was inducted into the Maoist fold in 2005 in Kalimela Area Committee. Later, she was transferred to the Gumma area committee and promoted to the rank of ACM in 2020. Debe was involved in seven major attacks on security forces along with several other incidents in the past.

Gita Podiami, on the other hand, worked as a member of the Andhra-Odisha Border (AOB) Millitary platoon. She hails from Chhattisgarh and was inducted into the Maoists group in 2018 in Dandakaranya Special Zonal Committee as a party member in Jana Natya Mandali (JNM).

In 2018, Gita was transferred to AOB supply team under AOBSZC and later to AOB military platoon in 2019. She worked in Boipariguda and Macchkund areas of Koraput district, Pedabailu in Andhra Pradesh, Swabhiman (Cut-off) and Tulsi area of Malkangiri district.

Gita was involved in four major attacks including the exchange of fire with security forces at Tikarpada in Malkangiri district in 2018.