• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Odishatv Bureau

New Delhi:  Odisha born Justice Dipak Mishra was sworn in on Monday as the 45th Chief Justice of India (CJI).

Justice Mishra was administered the oath of office by President Ram Nath Kovind. He has succeeded Jagdish Singh Khehar who demitted office earlier on Monday.

Justice Mishra will preside over the top court for 13 months and six days. His tenure will end on October 2, 2018.

He is the third Odia to hold the prestigious position after Justice Ranganath Mishra and Justice Gopal Ballav Pattanaik.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted his congratulation to Justice Mishra after his oath taking ceremony.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik also greeted Mishra and termed his oath taking as a proud moment for every Odia.

It may be mentioned that Justice Mishra is the nephew of former Chief Justice Ranganath Mishra.

Other Stories


AdBlock Detected!

Our website is made possible by displaying ads to our visitors. Please supporting us by whitelisting our website.