Nitesh Kumar Sahoo

In a proud moment for all Odias, as many as 6 eminent personalities from different fields will be receiving the prestigious Padma Awards this year. 

The list of awardees of the prestigious civilian award includes eminent litterateur and educationist Pratibha Ray, with Padma Bhushan. 

Similarly, Srimad Baba Balia, Pramod Bhagat, Aditya Prasad Dash, Shyamamani Devi, Narasingha Prasad Guru will be receiving Padma Shri.

While Ace Para-athlete Bhagat has been honoured with Padma Shri under the sports category, Srimad Baba Balia has been bestowed with the prestigious award in social work category.

Meanwhile, Aditya Prasad Das will receive the Padma award under Science and Engineering category, while popular singer Shyamamani Devi has been honoured for her contribution in the field of art. Similarly, Padma Shri will be conferred to Narasingha Prasad Guru for his contribution towards literature and education.

"I am overwhelmed for being honoured with the prestigious award. This will inspire me to continue my social work for life long. The snags we faced while carrying out the works ease with this honour," said Srimad Baba Balia. 

Similarly, Narasingha Prasad Guru said, "I was applying for the award since the past 3 years. Finally, this year the government considered me for the award. This prestigious award has paid back my efforts and dedication towards the betterment of the society. Better late than never. It is really overwhelming for me."

Guru Prasad Mohapatra (Civil Service) from Odisha will also receive Padma Shri (Posthumously). He has been nominated from Delhi.

Congratulating the Padma awardees from the State, BJP National Vice-President Baijayant Jay Panda expressed his joy through his Twitter post. 

His post read: "Salutes & congratulations to these deserving recipients of the Padma awards. They include both highly acclaimed figures & those less publicised but equally deserving. They also include posthumous awards of lost gems & heroes. They are icons, all. Jai Hind."