Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

Nominees for the Odisha Citizens Awards-2021 (OCA-2021), organised by Odisha Television Network, have been shortlisted after first round of selection.

The jury committee of OCA-2021 in its first meeting shortlisted nominees each in nine different categories namely Agriculture, Art and Culture, Industry, Education, Entertainment, Social Service, Sports, Health Services and Politics.

In the next round, the list of nominated candidates will be further pruned by the selection committee for the final shortlist.


The nominees selected thereafter will be eligible for the voting round before the announcement of the prestigious awards. The winner of each category will be selected based on votes from public through SMSes and views of the selection committee.

“Odisha Citizens Award is a great initiative. A jury committee comprising of experts from different fields selects the candidates in an impartial and unbiased manner. Truly deserving personalities will be conferred with the coveted awards,” said Doctor Banambar Roy, a member of the jury committee.

“Apart from the adjudicating panel, voting of people will also decide the fate of the winners. The selection process is completely transparent," said senior journalist Rajaram Satpathy.

Eminent movie director and jury member Sabyasachi Mohapatra said, the competition is pretty tough among some really talented personalities.

“It is pretty difficult for the jury members to prepare the shortlist. Hopefully, the right candidates will finally come up victorious,” said Mohapatra.

(Edited by Suryakant Jena)