Vikash Sharma

Odisha Plus 3 and PG students to get annual scholarships. The decision has been taken by Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

As per the decision, male students will get a scholarship of Rs 9,000 annually while the girl students will get Rs 10,000. The announcement was made by the 5T chairman.

While participating in Nua-O Fest, the 5T Chairman interacted with students from all colleges of Jajpur District and explained the State Cabinet decision on Nua -O Scholarships for students enrolled in General Degree and Post-Graduate (PG) programs in State universities, Government and non-government aided-colleges including aided-Sanskrit colleges under the Higher Education Department.

Official sources said that students belonging to eligible SC/ST and Nirman Shramik Families will get Rs 10,000 ( Male) and Rs 11,000 (Female) per annum.

All students are eligible for the scholarship, except the students whose parents are Income Tax payers or permanent Government employees.

The Nua O scholarships for the current academic year will be deposited in the bank accounts of the eligible students from February 20 onwards.

A corpus of Rs 300 crores will be created and by August month, Nua-O Magic Smart Card will be given to all eligible students who will get additional benefits like bus/train travel concessions, free wifi, access to online courses, skill development, coaching programs, etc. based on performance and participation in various academic and extracurricular activities, the government said in a release.