Ramakanta Biswas

The teacher education courses in Odisha are all set to undergo a major change with the State higher education department planning to introduce four-year Integrated Teacher Education Programme (ITEP) from academic session 2023-2024. 

The introduction of the ITEP in general degree colleges in regular mode by scrapping the self-financing courses is part of the policy decisions taken by the State Higher Education department. The policy decisions are in accordance with the National Education Policy (NEP) 2020. 

Saswat Mishra, principal secretary to the Higher Education department, on Wednesday wrote to the Principals of 16 standalone Government Teacher Education Colleges and 14 Government General Degree Colleges in this regard.

Here is the policy for running Teacher Education Courses from the academic session 2022-2023 onwards 

  • All the 16 standalone TECs will offer 2 year B.Ed course. 
  • Five TECs (RN IASE Cuttack, Dr PM IASE Sambalpur, DP IASE Berhampur, NDW CTE Bhubaneswar and NKC CTE Angul) will also offer 2 year M.Ed. course in addition to 2 year B.Ed. course.
  • Eleven General Degree Colleges will run Integrated Teacher Education Programme (ITEP) in regular mode from the academic session 2023-2024 instead of 2 year B.Ed Course. Therefore, these colleges are allowed to make admission of fresh students for their 2 year B.Ed programme, currently being run in self-financing mode, only for the academic session 2022-23 and not beyond. 
  • Along with the 11 General Degree Colleges, three more General Degree Colleges (Model Degree Colleges at Rayagada, Malkangiri and Nabarangpur) shall also run ITEP course from the academic session 2023-2024. 

All these colleges are required to submit online application to NCTE by May 31, 2022 for obtaining approval/recognition of NCTE in favour of their proposed courses.