Vikash Sharma

The University Grants Commission (UGC) on Thursday issued an important circular regarding the visit of students to identified tourist destinations under the Ek Bharat Shreshtha Bharat (EBSB) for the implementation of National Education Policy (NEP) 2020.

The Ministry of Tourism has released a list of 100 tourist destinations. The educational institutions are required to send students under EK Bharat Shreshtha Bharat Programme to study the destinations, their history, scientific contributions, traditions, indigenous literature and knowledge, etc. as a part of augmenting their knowledge about different areas to understand the rich culture and diversity of the country.

Three sites from Odisha--Konark, Chilika Lake and the Udaigiri-Khandagiri caves--have featured in the list of 100 sites identified by the Ministry of Tourism.

In a letter to the vice-chancellors of all Universities, the UGC has directed that all Higher Educational Institutions to organise the visits only when the Covid-19 restrictions are lifted fully.

“The students can be encouraged to learn about these locations and have activities digitally. A report of the activities undertaken may be sent to Ministry of Education on the email,” the UGC letter read.

It is pertinent to mention here that the National Education Policy (NEP), 2020 proposes to strengthen and promote the spirit of Ek Bharat Shreshtha Bharat (EBSB) among students. An activity related to EBSB for implementation of NEP, 2020 is "visit of students to 100 identified tourist destinations in the country, the notice added.