Vikash Sharma

The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) has taken several initiatives to integrate skill education as per the recommendations of the National Education Policy (NEP) 2020. At present, over 27 lakh students are studying skill subjects in classes 9 and 12 in approximately 22,000 CBSE affiliated schools.

CBSE is currently offering 33 Skill Modules for Middle school students and all the modules are of 12-15 hours duration.

In its latest notice, CBSE has said that schools and students are free to opt for one or more of these Skill Module(s) either at Class 6, 7 or 8.

“70% of the time duration will be devoted for the hands-on activities and 30% will be used for theory. These Skill Modules will also be made available in online self-learning mode. The student can take up the classes online too,” said CBSE.

As per CBSE, the assessment of these modules will be school based and will preferably be project based.

Introduction of new Skill Subjects

At present, the CBSE is offering 22 Skill subjects in classes 9 and 10 and 43 Skill subjects in classes 11 and 12. The new Skill subjects have been introduced are:

For Class 9:

Design Thinking & Innovation

Foundation Skills for Sciences (Pharmaceutical & Biotechnology)

Electronics & Hardware

Class 11

Design Thinking & Innovation

Physical Activity Trainer

Land Transportation Associate

Electronics & Hardware

CBSE has categorically stated, “No fee is to be paid by the affiliated schools to CBSE for introducing Skill module/Skill subject at any level.”

The Scheme of Studies for the students opting for skill subjects in classes 9 and 10 has been amended as follows: If a student studies three compulsory subjects (i.e., Science, Mathematics and Social Science) and also chooses to study a Skill subject (offered as sixth optional subject), the aggregate of best five including two languages (Subject 1 & 2) and the best three (from subject 3, 4, 5 & 6, including Skill subject) can be considered for calculation.