Rakesh Asthana is new CBI Special Director

New Delhi: In a major bureaucratic rejig, the Union Government on Sunday appointed 1984- batch Gujarat cadre IPS officer Rakesh Asthana as CBI special director and made Gurbachan Singh as Special Director of Intelligence Bureau (IB).

Deepak Kumar Mishra and Sudeep Lakhtakia have been promoted as Special DG in the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF).

Rajesh Ranjan and A.P. Maheshwari have been promoted to the ranks of Special DG in the Border Security Force (BSF).

This was announced by the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Department of Personnel and Training.

Gurbachan Singh was earlier Additional Director in IB and Asthana was Additional Director in CBI.

Lakhtakia and Mishra were earlier Additional DG in CRPF, while Ranjan and Maheshwari were Additional DG in the Border Security Force (BSF).