Odishatv Bureau

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday announced in the Lok Sabha that the government has given approval to a proposal for "Shri Ramjanmabhoomi Tirtha Kshetra" trust to take care of the construction of grand Ram temple in Ayodhya and other related issues.

Modi said that the historic decision was taken on Wednesday morning meeting of the Union cabinet in view of the Supreme Court's November 9 judgement on Ramjanmabhoomi issue.

The Prime Minister said that the trust will have "autonomy" and will be able to take decisions on Ram temple and other related issues "freely". "The trust will be free to take any decision," he said.

Modi also announced that the 67.703-acre land earmarked for the construction of the Ram temple will also be handed over to the trust.

He said that a plan has been prepared for the construction of the temple on Ram "janmasthali".

Prime Minister also said that the Uttar Pradesh government has given approval for five-acre land to be handed over to Sunni Central Waqf Board, as directed by the apex court.

"Join me in support of the construction of a grand Ram temple in Ayodhya on this historic occasion," Modi appealed to the members of the House.

Highlighting the Indian culture of inclusiveness, Prime Minister said that people had shown utmost restraint in the aftermath of Ayodhya verdict. "I hail the people of India for exhibiting such restraint," he said.

The 15-member list includes:

1. K. Parasaran, Senior Supreme Court advocate;

2. Jagatguru Shankaracharya Jyotishpeethadhishwar Swami Vasudevanand Saraswatiji Maharaj, Prayagraj;

3. Jagatguru Madhwacharya Swami Vishwa Prasannathirthaji Maharaj, Pejawar Math, Udupi;

4. Yugapurusha Paramanand Ji Maharaj, Haridwar;

5. Swami Govind Dev Giri Ji Maharaj, Pune;

6. Bimlendra Pratap Mishra;

7. Dr. Anil Mishra, Homoeopathic Doctor, Ayodhya;

8. Kameshwar Chaupal, Patna (Scheduled Caste member);

9. A trustee nominated by the Board of Trustees, of Hindu faith.

10. Another trustee nominated by the Board of Trustees, and the person should be Hindu.

11. Mahant Dinendra Das, Nirmohi Akhara, Ayodhya Meeting, Ayodhya (representative of Nirmohi Akhara), who shall be the trustee as per para 805 (4) of the Supreme Court judgement.

12. A representative nominated by the Central Government, who will be a Hindu and an officer of the Indian Administrative Service (IAS) under the Central Government. This person shall not be below the rank of Joint Secretary. It will be an ex-officio member.

13. A representative nominated by the state government, who will be of Hindu faith and an IAS officer under the government of Uttar Pradesh. This person shall not be below the rank of Secretary. It will be an ex-officio member.

14. District Collector of Ayodhya district, who is a former government employee, and of Hindu religion, will also be made trustee. If the current collector is not Hindu, then Additional Collector (of Hindu faith) of Ayodhya will be ex-officio member.

15. The Board of Trustees shall appoint a Chairman on matters relating to Ram Temple Development and Administration. He must be a Hindu.

On November 9 last year, the Supreme Court in a historic judgment gave the Ramjanmabhoomi to Hindus for the construction of a temple rejecting the claims of the Muslims.

The top Court had also given a three-month timeline to set up a trust for a temple at Ramjanmabhoomi where the 16th century Babri mosque stood before it was razed by Hindu activists in December 1992.