We Report, You Decide

Parrikar wins Goa bypoll

Panaji: Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar on Monday won the Goa assembly bye-election from the Panaji constituency by 4,803 votes.

Parrikar, who polled 9,862 votes, beat his nearest rival Congress’ Girish Chodankar, who netted 5,059 votes. Anand Shirodkar of the Goa Suraksha Manch came a distant third polling 220 votes.

“I was expecting to win,” Parrikar told reporters after the victory.

- Advertisement -

While Chodankar told reporters: “I may have lost numerically, but residents of Panaji have given me a lot of love.”

You might also like

Comments are closed.