Kumaraswamy takes oath as Karnataka Chief Minister

Bengaluru: HD Kumaraswamy of the Janata Dal (Secular) took oath as the Chief Minister of Karnataka today administered by Governor Vajubhai Vala.


Congress member G Parameshwara took oath as deputy chief minister.

Even as the Janata Dal (Secular) and Congress alliance is all set to form the government after much speculation, it has to pass floor test in the Assembly on Friday, sources said.

A huge gathering of top Opposition leaders including Congress President Rahul Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi, chief ministers of several states across the country attended the swearing-in ceremony of Kumaraswamy.

Also Read: BJD, Congress brush off Karnataka result impact on Odisha

Kumaraswamy is the second CM to take oath in Karnataka within a week, after BJP state president BS Yeddyurappa stepped down without facing the floor test on May 19 in the face of imminent defeat.

The distribution of portfolios is likely to be done after the floor test but sources said of the state’s 34 ministries, 22 would go to the Congress and 12, including the post of the Chief Minister, will be with the JD(S).

The Congress and the JD(S) had announced a last-minute tie-up during the counting of votes to keep the BJP out of power in the state and subsequently command majority in the state assembly. But the BJP which emerged as the single largest party, was invited to form government by Governor Vajubhai Vala.

Image source: ANI/Twitter