Karnataka bypolls: Congress-JD(S) coalition leads in two LS seats

Bengaluru: The ruling Congress-JD(S) coalition candidates in Karnataka were leading in two Lok Sabha constituencies and two Assembly segments in the bypolls held Saturday, according to initial trends as counting of votes was taken up this morning.

The BJP was ahead in the Shivamogga Lok Sabha seat.

The Congress was leading in Ballari and its coalition partner Janata Dal (Secular) in the Mandya parliamentary seats, electoral officials said.

The JD(S)-Congress coalition was also leading in Ramanagara and Jamkhandi Assembly segments respectively.

In Ballari, Congress’ V S Ugrappa was leading by 84,257 over Bharatiya Janata Party’s J Shantha.

BJP’s B Y Raghavendra, the son of former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa, was leading ahead of JD(S)’ Madhu Bangarappa by 9,665 votes votes in Shivamogga.

In Mandya, JD(S)’ Shivarame Gowda was leading over BJP’s Siddaramaiah.