• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Vikash Sharma

Bhubaneswar: Indian Railways has assigned the work for the preparation of a detailed project report (DPR) for seven new high speed rail (HSR) corridors to National High Speed Rail Corporation Limited (NHSRCL).

The seven new high speed rail corridors are:
(i) Delhi-Noida-Agra-Kanpur-Lucknow-Varanasi
(ii) Delhi-Jaipur-Udaipur-Ahmedabad
(iii) Mumbai-Nasik-Nagpur
(iv) Mumbai-Pune-Hyderabad
(v) Chennai-Bangalore-Mysore
(vi) Delhi-Chandigarh-Ludhiana-Jalandhar-Amritsar
(vii) Varanasi-Patna-Howrah

Though none of the above seven High Speed corridor is sanctioned yet, the decision on sanctioning any HSR project depends on the outcome of Detailed Project Report, techno-economic feasibility, availability of resources and financing options, said Minister of Railways, Commerce & Industry and Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution, Piyush Goyal.

In a written reply to a question in Lok Sabha on Wednesday, Goyal said that the preparation of DPRs is still in progress and alignment/route for the corridors has not been finalised yet.
Goyal further informed that the Upgradation/ modernization/beautification of stations on Indian Railways is a continuous and on-going process.

Railway stations across the country are being upgraded/modernized under ‘Adarsh’ Station Scheme based on identified need of providing better enhanced passenger amenities at stations.

Under ‘Adarsh’ Station Scheme, 1253 stations have been identified for development, out of which 1201 stations so far have been developed. The remaining 52 stations are planned to be developed under Adarsh Station Scheme by 2021- 22.

(With PIB Inputs)

Other Stories