Odishatv Bureau

New Delhi: The Election Commission on Monday announced February 8 as the date for the Delhi Assembly election. The model code of conduct comes into effect immediately, said the EC.

The counting of votes will be on February 11. The date of notification is January 14, while January 21 will be the last date for filing nominations.

There are a total of 70 seats in Delhi out of which ruling AAP won 67 last time.

Mainly three political parties are in the fray for the election -- Aam Aadmi Party, Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress.

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora, whose tenure is ending on February 22, said that he held a meeting with Chief Secretary and senior officials last month.

Ninety thousand officials to be deployed for poll duties, he said. Additional secretaries will look after deployment of officers.

Arora lamented that some constituencies in Delhi had lower turnouts than Maoist-affected areas. But he assured that the EC is taking all steps to ensure more people come out to vote. There are 13,750 polling stations in Delhi.

Arora also announced pick and drop facilities for senior citizens as well as postal ballot facility for people with disabilities and senior citizen above the age of 80.

Teams for monitoring the media have also been formed, informed the EC.