Odishatv Bureau

New Delhi: The BJP's Central Election Committee has cleared a total of 16 names for the upcoming bypolls in Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Manipur and Odisha.

The candidates were finalised at its meeting on Saturday night which attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President J.P. Nadda, Home Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Road Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari among others.

Related Story: Odisha Bypolls: New Guidelines By Election Commission In View Of Covid Pandemic

The CEC has named Gambhir Singh for Chhatisgarh's Marwahi constituency, while in the Gujarat bypolls, Pradyuman Singh Jadeja will contest from Avdasa, Brijesh Mirja from Morbi, J.B. Kakdia from Dhari, Atmaram Parmar from Gadhada, Ajay Patel from Karjan, Vijay Patel fron Dangs and Jitubhai Chowdhury from Kaprada constituencies.

The two names for Jharkhand are Louis Marandi from Dumka and Yogeshwar Mehto for Bermo.

In Manipur, Oinam Lukhoi Singh has been chosen to fight from Wangoi seat, Ponam Brojan Singh from Wangjing-Tentha, Nagamathang Haokip from Setu and Jinsuanhua from Singhat Assembly constituency.

The two names for bypolls in Odisha are Manas Kumar Datta from Balasore and Rajkishore Behra from Tirtol.

Also Read: Odisha: BJP Declares Candidates For Balasore, Tirtol By-Elections