New Delhi: A total of 824 assembly constituencies in Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and the Union Territory of Puducherry shall be going for polls during the Assembly elections. The polls will be held from March 27 to April 29, while the counting of votes will be held on May 2, the Election Commission of India said on Friday.

18.68 crore electors will cast vote at 2.7 lakh polling stations in Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Kerala, Assam & Puducherry, informed Chief Election Commissioner of India (CEC) Sunil Arora on Friday during a press brief.

While elections to the 140-member Kerala Assembly, the 30-member Puducherry Assembly and the 234-member Tamil Nadu Assembly will be held in a single phase on April 6, polling for the 140-member Assam Assembly will be held on March 27, April 1 and April 6.

Polling to the 294-member West Bengal Assembly will be held in eight phases, on March 27, April 1, April 6, April 10, April 17, April 22, April 26 and April 29.

Further Arora informed that all polling officials and other staff associated with the conduct of the elections to the Assemblies of 4 States and the UT of Puducherry will be vaccinated for Covid-19.

He also clarified that door-to-door campaigning will be restricted to five persons including candidate, roadshows can be held.

"Vaccination drive has made situation more conducive for elections, everyone on poll duty declared frontline worker for vaccine purpose," said CEC.

"Arrangements to be in place for candidates to file nominations online for five assembly polls, voting to be allowed for extra one hour. Webcasting arrangement in place at polling stations in critical and vulnerable areas," he added.

Assembly Poll Dates & Result Date

Tamil Nadu Assembly Elections - Polls on 6th April. Counting of votes on 2nd May

Puducherry Assembly Elections - Polls on 6th April. Counting on 2nd May

Kerala Assembly Elections - Polls on 6th April. Counting of votes on 2nd May

Assam Assembly Elections in 3 phases - 1st phase of polling- 27th March, second phase polling - 1st April and third phase of polling - 6th April. Date of counting 2nd May

Further, CEC Arora said, "The schedule for byelections to Pipili Assembly constituency in Odisha and segments in other parts of the country will be declared through a fresh notification."

(With Inputs From Nitesh Kumar)

Other Stories