Chennai: Megastar Rajinikanth was among the first stars on Sunday to cast his vote in the Tamil Nadu Film Producers Council election here.

The voting for the office-bearers for 2017-19 began from 8 a.m. and will go on till 4 p.m. here.

The counting will take place at 5 p.m. and results will be announced subsequently.

Gautham Vasudev Menon, K.E. Gnanavel Raja, A.L. Azhagappan, A.M. Rathnam, Prakash Raj, Mysskin and S.A. Chandrasekaran are among producers and directors from the Tamil filmdom who are contesting for various posts.

Actor Vishal, producer T. Siva, R. Radhakrishnan, Kalaipuli G. Sekaran and Kothanda Ramaiah aka KR are contesting for the post of president.

The election is being conducted under the supervision of Madras High Court's Justice (retd) S. Rajeswaran.