Mrunal Manmay Dash

The Odisha government has introduced a new award and scholarship programme for all the stakeholders of the mass education system including meritorious students, teachers of primary and secondary schools. The government will give away awards to 50,000 students and 1500 teachers under this scheme.

The award was announced by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on the penultimate day of a three-day event at Unit-II Boy’s High School in Bhubaneswar on Wednesday.

Broadly, there will be two categories under which the awards will be given. One is individual award and the second one would be Institutional award. The individual awards will be given to teachers, head mistresses, head masters and students.

There will be three sub-categories for students. The first one will be for meritorious students, the second one will be for leadership which will be given to students who excel in extra and co-curricular activities, and the third one is a scholarship for meritorious but economically weak students.

As far as teachers are concerned, around 100 secondary school teachers of seven shortlisted subjects will be awarded at block, gram panchayat and district level. The Headmasters and Head Mistresses too will be awarded at different levels.

The institutional awards will be given at block, district and State level to best schools, alumni associations, school management committees, gram panchayats, and district administrations.

Speaking to the reporters, Odisha School & Mass Education Secretary, S Aswathy said, “The department will issue a detailed guideline and will start capacity building workshops soon.”

“The primary objective of the award is to motivate all the stakeholders of the education system in Odisha,’ she added.

(Reported By Bibartan Panda, OTV))