We Report, You Decide

Public Movement Restricted From 7 PM To 7 AM In Several Districts Of Odisha & Twin Cities

Bhubaneswar: Even though Odisha government has allowed considerable relaxations to economic activities in the lockdown 3.0 from May 4, strict ban on non-essential activities of public between 7 PM and 7 AM has already been enforced in several COVID affected districts and the Twin Cities of Cuttack and Bhubaneswar in the State as per the regulations issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs.

The MHA in its order dated May 1 has notified that ‘all non-essential activities shall remain strictly prohibited between 7 PM and 7 AM. Local authorities shall issue orders under appropriate provisions of law, such as prohibitory orders (curfew) under Section 144 of CrPC, for this purpose and ensure strict compliance.’

Odisha government has asked all Collector and District Magistrate/ Commissioner of Police/ Municipal Commissioner to issue the prohibition as per the MHA guidelines in order to prevent Covid-19 cases from exploding due to rising public activities for the first time after enforcement of the nationwide lockdown.

In a major step to curb the rising cases of Coronavirus under control, Twin City Police Commissioner Sudhanshu Sarangi today took to Twitter to mention that restrictions will be imposed on public movement from 7 PM to 7 AM in Bhubaneswar and Cuttack till May 17. Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC) issued a letter mentioning the same.

- Advertisement -

Though the Commissioner of Police, Bhubaneswar- Cuttack, did not impose prohibitory order under section 144 of CrPC, he said, “As per lockdown condition effective from today, in all zones and across India, movement out of the house is not permitted from 7 PM to 7 AM except for essential purposes. All are requested to stay home during this time. All emergency workers and goods are exempt from this restriction.”

All are requested to stay home during this time. All emergency workers and goods movement are exempted from this,” the Commissionerate of Police said in its twitter handle.

The police personnel in the state capital and also in Cuttack, a green zone, used the public address system to announce about the new restriction imposed from 7 pm to 7 am.

Meanwhile, in a notification, Jagatsinghpur district collector S K Mohapatra said: “..there are sufficient grounds for proceeding under section 144 CrPC and that immediate prevention of the spread of COVID-19 is desirable and the situation, if not checked immediately, may lead to an undesirable consequence.

“Hence I do herby issue prohibitory orders (curfew) u/s 144 CrPC restricting the movement of individuals, for all non-essential activities between 7 pm to 7 am throughout the district of Jagatsinghpur.”

He, however, said that the restriction will not restrict activities in industrial activities. Jagatsinghpur district continues to remain as a green zone and has so far not reported any COVID-19 case.

A report from Dhenkanal and Balasore district also informed that the district administration there also imposed restriction on the movement of people from 7 pm to 7 am.

Similarly, the District Collector of Koraput also issued a letter prohibiting movement of individuals for all non-essential activities from 7 pm to 7 am.

The district administration of Rayagada too restricted public movement in the district for all non-essential items from 7 pm to 7 am.

Keeping in view of the increasing COVID19 positive cases in Bhadrak district, the Collector had issued a partial prohibitory order on the movement of public for all non-essential items in the district from 7 pm to 7 am till 17 May 2020.

(With Agency Inputs)

Read Our Next Story

End Google Tag Manager (noscript)