Pakistan gets seat in UN Security Council

United Nations: Pakistan today won a seat as non-permanent member of the powerful UN Security Council, putting it in the club of 10 nations which currently includes India.

Pakistan won 129 votes in the 193 member General Assembly for a two-year term beginning January 1, 2012 to December 31, 2013. Pakistan was vying for the seat against Kyrgyzstan in the Asia pacific category. Pakistan was one of the nine countries vying for five non-permanent seats on the Security Council that will fall vacant on December 31, 2011.

India joined as non-permanent member of the UNSC on January 2011 and its term will end on December 31, 2012. The two nuclear-armed neighbours have thrice before been together in the Council in 1968, 1977 and 1984.