Nepal PM forms biggest cabinet in history

Kathmandu: Nepalese Prime Minister Baburam Bhattarai on Friday inducted three new ministers in his 46-member jumbo cabinet, making it the largest in the country`s history. All the three ministers of state belong to the fringe Madhesi parties.

The new ministers are Om Prakash Yadav (Agriculture), Khovari Raya Yadav (Industry) and Surita Shah (Communication), according to the sources close to the Prime Minister. Om Prakash and Surita are from Madhesi Peoples Rights Forum (Republican) while Khovari is from Federal Sadbhawana Party.

Earlier this week, Bhattarai had inducted seven ministers, including six from his own UCPN-Maoist party, and 19 state ministers, bringing the total strength to 46. After today`s expansion, the total strength stands at 49.

Bhattarai, who just returned from Maldivies after attending the 17th SAARC Summit, even left behind Nepali Congress leader and former prime minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, who had formed 48-member cabinet in 1996.

Deuba`s action at that time had invited severe criticism from the Nepal`s political spectrum.