Nepal cabinet resigns to form national consensus govt

Kathmandu:  All the ministers in Nepal`s coalition government resigned en-mass on Thursday night after major political parties in the country reached a deal to form a new national unity government within two days in a bid to end the current political deadlock.

The top leaders of three major political parties and the Joint Democratic Madhesi Front during a crucial meeting reached a five point agreement to form a national censuses government to promulgate the Constitution within the May 27 deadline, according to Nepali Congress central member Bimalendra Nidhi, who was also present in the meeting.

As per the agreement all the ministers of the coalition government led by Prime Minister Baburam Bhattarai have tendered their resignation en-mass and have agreed to form a national consensus government within two days.

Now Bhattarai will form the new government to include members of the main opposition parties.

The parties have also agreed to sort out all contentious issues of Constitution drafting within the next three days and to promulgate it within May 27 deadline, according to Nidhi.

The parties have also agreed to form a government led by Nepali Congress. As per the agreement Nepali Congress-led government will conduct the Parliamentary election within one year after drafting the constitution.

The agreement was signed by UCPN-Maoist chief Prachanda, Nepali Congress president Sushil Koirala, CPN-UML president Jhala Nath Khanal and chairman of Madhesi Peoples Rights Forum Democratic Bijaya Kumar Gachhadar.

The Constituent Assembly was elected in 2008 with a mandate to draft the document within two years, but the deadline has been repeatedly extended amid little progress.