• otv

Tag: Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee

Niranjan Patnaik
No discussions with Rahul on change of guard: Niranjan

Bhubaneswar: To clear the air over his recent New Delhi visit, at a time when All India Congress Committee (AICC) president Rahul Gandhi had informed that there would not be any changes in the existing leadership of state units, former Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) chief Niranjan Patnaik today informed mediapersons that he had had […]

Buzz around OPCC leadership change gets louder

Bhubaneswar: Buzz around change of guard in the Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) intensified further today after the All India Congress Committee (AICC) appointed new leaders for key posts in its women’s wing and Madhya Pradesh unit. A meeting between Congress party’s Odisha in-charge BK Hariprasad and OPCC chief Prasad Harichandan in New Delhi today […]

OPCC revamp: Will Congress go for its failed formula again?

Bhubaneswar/New Delhi: Amid the ongoing clamour for a change in leadership, the All India Congress Committee (AICC) today held discussions with as many as 36 leaders of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) and speculations are rife that the party might adopt the ‘1+3’ formula which it had unsuccessfully experimented in 2009. The 1+3 formula was […]

AICC observers meet district presidents of OPCC

Bhubaneswar: A three-member team of observers, constituted by All India Congress Committee (AICC) chief Sonia Gandhi, to assess the political situation in Odisha met various district presidents in the first phase of their visit today. The team discussed the political situation of the party in the State and sought their opinion on the change of […]

Congress legislative party favours Niranjan Patnaik as OPCC President

Bhubaneswar: The demand for change in guard in the Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) has intensified with three heavyweight Congress leaders supporting Niranjan Patnaik who is in a race with Bhakta Charan Das as the new PCC chief. As per sources, All India Congress Committee (AICC) Vice President Rahul Gandhi has also been informed about […]

Senior Congress leaders hold closed-door meeting at LoP’s residence

Bhubaneswar: A closed-door meeting of senior Congress leaders was held at the official residence of Leader of Opposition (LoP) Narasingha Mishra here on Sunday. Veteran Congress leader Niranjan Patnaik, Opposition Chief Whip Tara Prasad Bahinipati, legislators Naba Kishore Das, Anshuman Mohanty, Prafulla Majhi and Devendra Sharma were among the few who attended the meeting. Jharsuguda […]

Odisha Congress demands spl category state status, fin package

Bhubaneswar: Ahead of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s visit here, Congress on Friday demanded grant of special category state status or a special financial package to Odisha. As Modi is coming to attend BJP’s national executive meeting beginning here tomorrow, he should announce special category state status for Odisha at the same meeting, Odisha Pradesh Congress […]

pradeep Majhi
Pradeep Majhi resigns from Odisha Congress vice-president post

Bhubaneswar: The eerie silence in the Congress camp amidst the clatter of BJD and BJB was broken after former MP of the party Pradeep Majhi created a flutter by resigning from his post of the Vice President of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) on Friday. Known to be a strong tribal leader, Majhi resigned from […]

Congress alleges Maheswar Mohanty
Congress alleges Puri MLA’s involvement in Swargadwar land grab row

Bhubaneswar: Puri MLA Maheswar Mohanty is the mastermind behind the Swargadwar land grab row alleged Youth Congress Executive President Lokanath in a Press meet today. He said that encroachment of Swargadwar and many illegal activities were performed during Mohanty’s term as the Chairman of Puri Municipality. Lokanath warned that if action regarding the issue is […]

OPCC suspends 2 ZP members for defying party whip

Bhubaneswar: Zilla Parishad member of Umerkote in Nabarangpur district Rabindra Dhal and Zilla Parishad member of Gunupur in Rayagada district Laxmi Sabar were suspended by the Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) for disobeying the party whip in the Zilla Parishad (ZP) chairman election. According to sources, action will be taken regarding the Sundargarh district by […]

Prasad Harichandan
Massive use of black money by BJD, BJP influenced voters: Cong

Bhubaneswar: Making himself accountable to the miserable show of Congress in the three-tier Panchayat polls which was concluded in Odisha today, president of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) Prasad Harichandan said there are other factors responsible for the dismal performance of his party. “Both BJP and BJP managed to influence the voters through massive use […]

Panchayat polls: BJP makes inroads into BJD bastion

Bhubaneswar: The outcome of the first phase Panchayat polls in Odisha the unofficial results of which was declared yesterday, has become more disconcerting for the ruling BJD as the BJP, its erstwhile ally, has made inroads into its bastion. As per the unofficial results, out of the four Zilla Parishad seats in Narasinghpur block in […]

PCC president - Prasad Harichandan
Odisha Congress wants PM to intervene in Mahanadi water dispute

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) President Prasad Harichandan on Monday sought the intervention of Prime Minister Narendra Modi to resolve the Mahanadi water dispute with Chhattisgarh. In a letter to the Prime Minister, the PCC President urged him to ensure formation of an Inter-State River Water Dispute Tribunal and direct the Chhattisgarh government to […]

Cong brings back ex-Lanjigarh MLA Sivaji Majhi to party fold

The Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) which had suspended Lanjigarh MLA Shivaji Majhi from the party for not abiding by a party whip meant for Rajya Sabha election held in 2010, today brought him back to the party fold