Tag: Odisha Assembly Speaker

Bikram Arukha files nomination for Odisha Assembly Speaker post
Bikram Arukha files nomination for Odisha Assembly Speaker post

The election for the Speaker post is scheduled to be held on June 13.

  • Friday, 10 June 2022
Odisha Assembly
Odisha Assembly Speaker election on June 13

Notably, Surya Narayan Patro had resigned from the post of Assembly Speaker recently due to health issues.

  • Thursday, 09 June 2022
Vidhan Parishad Row: Odisha Speaker Writes To Centre Seeking Probe 
Vidhan Parishad Row: Odisha Speaker Writes To Centre Seeking Probe 

The issue pertaining to the creation of Vidhan Parishad, an upper legislative house in Odisha, triggered a controversy after the Centre recently denied receiving any resolution from the State in this regard.

  • Tuesday, 15 February 2022
Odisha Legislative Council Row: Speaker Patro To Write To Union Minister Rijiju
Odisha Legislative Council Row: Speaker Patro To Write To Union Minister Rijiju

It is pertinent to mention here that Union Minister Rijiju informed the Rajya Sabha that the Centre was still to receive any resolution passed by the Odisha Assembly for the formation of a Legislative Council in the State while answering BJD MP Prasanna Acharya's question. On Friday, his answer evoked sharp reactions from several BJD leaders including the Assembly Speaker.

  • Saturday, 12 February 2022
Dilip Ray resigns as MLA, quits BJP; Bijoy Mohapatra follows suit

Bhubaneswar: Senior BJP leader and Rourkela MLA Dilip Ray today resigned from his post as MLA. He met Odisha Assembly Speaker Pradip Amat and submitted the resignation letter. Soon after, Ray along with senior leader Bijoy Mohapatra, in a joint letter to party president Amit Shah, tendered their resignation from primary membership of the BJP. […]

  • Friday, 30 July 2021
Congress MLA Krushna Chandra Sagaria quits from his post

Bhubaneswar: Days after announcing his decision to quit from his post, Koraput Congress MLA Krushna Chandra Sagaria today submitted his resignation to Odisha Assembly Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat. He had announced his decision to quit from the membership of Odisha Legislative Assembly last month citing failure to provide justice to Kunduli gang rape victim. “I have submitted […]

  • Thursday, 29 July 2021
Odisha Assembly
Congress faces off with Odisha Assembly speaker demanding discussion on farmer issues

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Assembly was adjourned twice on Monday amid uproar by Congress members, who demanded a discussion on the challenges faced by the farmers and the welfare schemes initiated for them by the government. As soon as the House assembled for the Question Hour, the Congress MLAs moved a notice, seeking a discussion on […]

  • Thursday, 29 April 2021
Proposal to rein in unruly MLAs inside Odisha Assembly elicits mixed response

Bhubaneswar: From scuffle between MLAs to throwing paper at the Speaker, Odisha Assembly has witnessed ruckus of sorts. In a bid to ensure that the Assembly functions smoothly, Speaker SN Patro has proposed rules mandating stern action against members who rush to the well of the House. As per the recommendation, a member should be […]

  • Monday, 26 April 2021
Speaker Sets Up Committee For Renovation Of Odisha Assembly Building

Bhubaneswar: With the Odisha Assembly heading for a major high-tech makeover in a few months time, Speaker Surya Narayan Patro on Monday set up a committee to completely renovate the interior of the House and lobby sections of the building besides making it wifi enabled. The decision in this regard was taken at a meeting […]

  • Sunday, 25 April 2021
Odisha Assembly to be paperless soon: Speaker

Bhubaneswar: With the winter session of the Odisha Assembly all set to begin from tomorrow, Speaker Surjya Narayan Patro today informed that the process to make the House paperless has already begun and MLAs can now send requisition for questions and answers through a mobile app. “It is just the beginning; we are planning for […]

  • Friday, 23 April 2021
Gandhiji Booklet Row: Odisha Speaker Directs Minister To Give A Statement In The House By Saturday

Bhubaneswar: With an Odisha government booklet creating hue and cry in the state for describing Mahatma Gandhi’s death as an “accident”, Speaker S N Patro Friday asked the school and mass education minister Samir Ranjan Dash to give a statement in the House by Saturday. The issue was raised in the Assembly both during the […]

  • Friday, 23 April 2021
Odisha Assembly Budget Session Likely To Be Stormy

Bhubaneswar: The Budget session of the Odisha Assembly scheduled to commence on February 14 is likely to be stormy with the opposition BJP and Congress planning to corner the ruling-BJD over a range of issues, including crime against women, lapses in paddy procurement and attacks on RTI activists. Leader of the Opposition (LoP) Pradipta Kumar […]

  • Monday, 19 April 2021
Friday's Ruling On Media Reporting Only For That Day: Odisha Assembly Speaker

Bhubaneswar: After a series of adjournments on Saturday due to protests by opposition members over Speaker Surjya Narayan Patro’s ban on media from reporting ruckus in well of the Odisha Assembly, normalcy was restored in the House following an all-party meeting. The opposition BJP and Congress demanded the withdrawal of Speakers ruling on the media […]

  • Monday, 19 April 2021
COVID-19 Lockdown: Odisha Assembly To Set Up Help Desk For Migrant Workers

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Assembly Speaker S N Patro on Tuesday urged all the MLAs and MPs to inform his office about the people stranded outside the state amid the ongoing lockdown. Patro also said that the Odisha Assembly will soon set up a help desk for migrant workers. He said this after holding a meeting with […]

  • Saturday, 17 April 2021
Odisha Assembly Session By September End: Speaker
Odisha Assembly Session By September End: Speaker

Bhubaneswar: The next session of Odisha Assembly will begin by the end of September, informed Speaker Surjya Narayan Patro. Speaking to media Patro said, “As per the protocol, it is mandatory to start a new session within six months of the commencement of the previous session. The last session of the House was held on […]

  • Tuesday, 13 April 2021