• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ

Tag: Legislators

Odisha MLAs go up in arms against Speaker

Bhubaneswar: The legislators of the ruling and Opposition parties today targeted the Assembly Speaker alleging that they were not allowed to speak during the question hour session of the Odisha Assembly today. Congress’ Jeypore MLA Tara Bahinipati and BJD MLA from Dhenkanal, Sudhir Kumar Samal, alleged that they were not given a chance to raise […]

Abhijit Iyer seeks time till tomorrow to submit affidavit before House panel

Bhubaneswar: Journalist Abhijit Iyer-Mitra deposed before the House Committee of Odisha Assembly today in connection with the derogatory remarks made by him on the Konark Sun Temple and his comments on legislators. However, Iyer who was supposed to submit an affidavit in connection with the case has sought time till tomorrow to furnish the same. […]

Ruckus by legislators mars Assembly proceedings

Bhubaneswar: It was another noisy day inside the Odisha Assembly as all the three major parties- Congress, BJP and the ruling-BJD created ruckus over different issues of the State following which the Speaker adjourned the proceedings of the House till 11:30 am today. At the beginning of the session, BJP legislators wearing black gowns raised […]

Chief Secretary row: AAP MLA Amanatullah surrenders

New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party’s Amanatullah Khan, one of the two legislators who had allegedly attacked Delhi Chief Secretary Anshu Prakash, surrendered at a police station here today. Special Commissioner of Police Dependra Pathak told IANS that Khan surrendered at the Jamia Nagar Police Station. “He presented himself this afternoon at the police station and […]

MPs, MLAs vote to elect 14th President of India

New Delhi: Parliamentarians and legislators across India began voting on Monday to elect the country’s 14th President in a direct contest between ruling NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind and opposition-backed Meira Kumar. Polling to choose the successor of incumbent Pranab Mukherjee, who demits office on July 25, started simultaneously in the national and state capitals […]

Odisha Assembly adjourned sine die

Bhubaneswar: The winter session of the Odisha Assembly was adjourned sine die 16 days ahead of schedule. The session of the House which had begun on December 1 had 24 working days till the end of its session on December 31. But it was adjourned sine die after only nine working days. The proposal to […]

Assembly winter session: Opp ready to corner govt

Bhubaneswar: With the month-long winter session of the Odisha Assembly beginning from December 1, the opposition Congress and BJP are ready to take on the government on a number of issues. “We will target the state government on a number of issues notably the Japanese Encephalitis in Malkangiri and the failure of the state government […]

Furnishing wrong info in Odisha Assembly: Oppn targets govt

Bhubaneswar: The opposition today came down heavily on the ruling BJD government over the statement by the party spokesperson Pratap Deb, who, while briefing the media on the step the state government has taken on Mahanadi issue, had said that most departments are used to provide wrong information to the State Assembly. “It was the […]