• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ

Tag: Bijepur Election

Political temperature soars in Bijepur as campaigning picks pace

Bargarh: The Bijepur Assembly constituency has turned into a political cauldron with the three major political parties- BJD, BJP and Congress- leaving no stone unturned to attract voters’ attention to win the bypoll which is scheduled to be held on October 21. BJD president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Thursday raised the tempo […]

Bijepur Bypoll Turf: A Battle of Two Narratives

Bargarh: The erstwhile Congress bastion Bijepur has become a battleground of the resurgent BJP while the BJD is determined to win the Assembly seat for the third time in 20 months. Still, the grand old party is also leaving no stone unturned to regain its lost ground. Of all, the Bijepur fight seems to be […]

Column: Congress Must Grab This Opportunity With Both Hands

By Ashutosh Mishra Bhubaneswar: For all practical purposes the contest in Bijepur will be a duel between ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) and Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP). But for the Congress, which no more enjoys the status of state’s main opposition party, it is extremely important not only to be in the fray but to […]

Help Us! No Money To Fight Bijepur Bypoll: Odisha Congress Chief

Bhubaneswar: With barely a month left for the high voltage Bijepur bypoll, Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) president Niranjan Patnaik today sought financial assistance from party leaders and other affluent supporters to meet the expenditure of the by-election. All the party funds have been spent during the recently-concluded general elections and now Congress needs the […]

Column: Bijepur, A question of Credibility

By Ashutosh Mishra Bhubaneswar: Battle lines have been drawn in Bijepur with Election Commission announcing the by-poll schedule for the western Odisha constituency made famous by chief minister, Naveen Patnaik’s victory from there in the recent election. The bye-election has been necessitated by Patnaik’s decision to quit the seat in favour of his pocket-borough of […]

Bijepur Bypoll: Congress fires ‘Betrayer’ salvo at CM Naveen, Rita Sahu Hits Back

Bhubaneswar: A day after the ruling-Biju Janata Dal (BJD) in Odisha constituted a four-member election coordination team for Bijepur bypoll, Congress MLA Tara Bahinipati today tagged Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik as ‘beiman’ and ‘traitor’ for vacating Bijepur Assembly seat. However, former MLA Rita Sahu was fast enough to hit back stating that several developmental works […]

CM Naveen to visit Bijepur on March 12

Bhubaneswar: After BJD’s thumping victory in the by-election, party president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik will visit the Bijepur Assembly constituency on March 12. Informing media about the visit, Bijepur MLA Rita Sahu said that Naveen decided to visit the constituency to thank the people for their support. “The CM will also discuss about […]

Bijepur bypoll: Campaigning ends; security beefed up

Bhubaneswar: High-octane campaigning for the bypoll to Bijepur Assembly constituency, which is seen as a precursor to the 2019 general elections, came to an end at 5PM today following which police have beefed up security to prevent any untoward incident. Nearly 2.21 lakh voters of the constituency will exercise their franchise on February 24. “Polling […]

Bijepur bypoll: Even bigger test for matric students

Bargarh: Class X students in Bijepur are facing a test ahead of their real test as they get rattled by the blaring election campaigns by political parties for the by-election to the Assembly constituency. The three major political parties- BJD, BJP and Congress- have all amped up their efforts and high decibel campaigning with sound […]

Will Bijepur Change Anything?

Rarely has an Assembly election received so much of attention – and for so long. The spotlight turned to this little known constituency in Bargarh district soon after the untimely demise of sitting Congress MLA Subal Sahu on August 22 last year and has not, despite the media’s well known short attention span on any […]

BJD will win the Bijepur bypoll: Rita Sahu

Rita Sahu, the BJD candidate for Bijepur bypoll, has been the cynosure of all eyes in the political circles in the state from the day she joined the party. The bypoll to the seat was necessitated after  the untimely demise of three-time Congress MLA from Bijepur, Subal Sahu. Being the wife of Sahu was never […]

BJP chalks out strategy for Bijepur bypoll

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today announced its ‘master plan’ for the Bijepur bypoll by appointing three senior leaders as in-charge of three blocks of the assembly constituency. BJP legislature party leader  KV Singh Deo will be in-charge of Gaisilat block while senior leader Jayanarayan Mishra has been given the responsibility of Bijepur block. […]

Bijepur bypoll: BJD-BJP indulge in blame game after violence

Bargarh: A day after gunshots were fired at a BJP activist’s residence in Pada village of Bijepur block, the saffron party today blamed the BJD of  indulging in violence to win the bypoll. Three masked men allegedly fired three gunshots at the BJP activist’s house on Sunday evening and fled the spot. Accusing the ruling […]

Bijepur bypoll
Bijepur lift irrigation project, a poll gimmick: BJP

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday once again slammed the ruling-BJD for lack of budgetary provision for the recently-announced Gangadhar Meher Lift Canal System project in the supplementary budget placed in the Assembly. The members of the BJP’s Kishan Morcha today staged demonstration in front of the Gangadhar Meher’s statue at NALCO Chhak […]

Bijepur bypoll likely this month

Bhubaneswar: Bypoll for the Bijepur Assembly constituency is likely to be held this month and a notification for the same may be issued soon. Sources said the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Odisha DN Gupta today met the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India and held discussions regarding the bypoll. During the courtesy meeting with […]

Exodus on: BJP's Bargarh district unit president resigns, to join BJD

Bhubaneswar: Even as the Election Commission is yet to announce dates for Bijepur bypoll, a virtual war has already broken out between the BJD and the BJP to win the seat with the latter’s Bargarh district unit president Narayan Sahu resigning from the party on Tuesday. After resigning from the party, Sahu arrived at Naveen […]

HIgh Court Chitfund
Orissa HC closes 2014 Bijepur election irregularities case

Cuttack: Putting all uncertainties over the byelection in Bijepur to rest, Orissa High Court today closed the case filed in connection with irregularities during 2014 elections in the constituency. As per the court’s ruling, petition was closed as Congress MLA Subal Sahu the opposite party in the case is no more. “The HC said that […]

BJD not following 'divide and rule' policy to strengthen party: CM Naveen

Bhubaneswar: While a virtual war has already broken out between BJD and BJP to bag the Bijepur constituency seat in the ensuing bypoll, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today refuted the allegations that BJD is following ‘divide and rule’ policy to strengthen the party. While speaking to media today at Naveen Nivas, the CM said, that […]