World T20: Australia win toss, elect to bat against India

Mohali: Australia won the toss and elected to bat first in their crucial World Twenty20 encounter against India at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium here on Sunday.

Sunday’s match, the last in Group 2, is a virtual quarter-final as the winners will go through to the semi-finals. Both India and Australia have two wins from three matches, although the men from Down Under have a better net run rate.

New Zealand have already qualified for the semi-finals from Group 2, while England and West Indies have qualified for the last-four stage from Group 1.

India started their campaign with a 47-run loss to New Zealand. But they defeated arch-rivals Pakistan and Bangladesh to keep their hopes of reaching the semi-finals alive.

Australia registered narrow wins over Pakistan and Bangladesh lost to trans-Tasman rivals New Zealand.

Both teams will field unchanged line-ups on Sunday.


India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper/captain), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ashish Nehra, Jasprit Bumrah

Australia: Usman Khawaja, Aaron Finch, David Warner, Steven Smith (captain), Glenn Maxwell, Shane Watson, James Faulkner, Peter Nevill(wicketkeeper), Adam Zampa, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Josh Hazlewood