Western Railway 73rd All India Railway Hockey champions

Bhubaneswar: Western Railway, Mumbai bagged the Championship Trophy by defeating Railway Coach Factory, Kapurthala 2-0 in the final of the 73rd All India Railway Hockey Championship held at Kalinga Stadium here today.

Odisha Governor S C Jamir handed over the Championship Trophy to the winners and runners-up teams in presence of Rajiv Vishnoi, General Manager of East Coast Railway (ECoR).

Jamir also congratulated players of both the teams for their outstanding performance in the final.

Earlier in the morning, Central Railway, Mumbai defeated South Central Railway, Secunderabad 6-3 in the match to decide third and fourth positions.

Malak Singh of Western Railway was adjudged Player of the Tournament for scoring highest number of goals, an ECoR release said.