Srini set to be elected unopposed; VPs Dabir, Shah dropped

Chennai: Unruffled by criticism and adverse observations of the Supreme Court, a defiant N Srinivasan is all set to be elected unopposed as BCCI President for a third year even as two vice-Presidents were today unceremoniously dumped ahead of the Board's AGM here tomorrow.
Srinivasan was the lone Presidential candidate put forward by the South Zone, from where he got the proposer and the seconder.
While Srinivasan's nomination was on expected lines, there was some interesting drama which unfolded during the nominations for the other posts.
Sudhir Dabir, vice President from the central zone and his west zone colleague Niranjan Shah were removed from their positions even though both were eligible for extension. MCA president Ravi Savant replaced Shah from west zone, while senior Congress leader and union minister Rajiv Shukla took Dabir's position from the central zone.
Another political heavyweight, Arun Jaitley, relinquished the vice-President's position due to his political commitments and was replaced by his Delhi and Districts Cricket Association (DDCA) colleague Sneh Bansal.
While Dabir is considered close to former BCCI chief and Srinivasan's adversary Shashank Manohar, Shah is perceived to be a confidante of another former Board head Sharad Pawar, someone who harbours the ambition to upset Srinivasan's applecart.
Haryana Cricket Association chief Anirudh Chaudhary has been nominated for the post of Treasurer, which was to become vacant after Savant is formally made vice-President tomorrow.
"I don't want to politicise the whole issue by making any comments. Whatever you have heard is true," Dabir told PTI when asked whether he has been dropped.
Cricket Association of Bengal veteran Chitrak Mitra and HCA president and former India off-spinner Shivlal Yadav were game with a year's extension.