Sachin, Zaheer, Yuvraj make it to ICCs Team of the tournament

New Delhi: Their crucial contribution in guiding India to their first World Cup title in 28 years on Sunday fetched the trio of Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh and Zaheer Khan a place in the International Cricket Council`s Team of the Tournament.

Kumar Sangakkara has been named the captain of this team of 12 that also features three Sri Lankans — Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Muttiah Muralitharan.

Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who won the man of the final award, however, didn`t make it as his performance with the bat wasn`t upto the mark before the summit clash.

According to a media release by ICC, the team was chosen by a select group of experts who were given the task of picking a balanced side for sub-continental conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.

Pakistan has only one representative in captain Shahid Afridi while South Africa`s AB de Villiers and Dale Steyn also found a berth in the side.

Shane Watson was the only Australian representative while New Zealand pacer Tim Southee was named the 12th man. No England player featured in the team.

Some of the other names that were discussed included Ross Taylor and Jacob Oram of New Zealand, Jonathan Trott and Graeme Swann of England, Ireland?s Kevin O`Brien, Kemar Roach and Kieron Pollard of the West Indies, Imran Tahir of South Africa, Upal Tharanga and Lasith Malinga of Sri Lanka and the Netherlands? Ryan ten Doeschate.

Team of the Tournament (in batting order): Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan (all from India), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (WK and captain), Mahela Jayawardena,Muttiah Muralitharan (all from Sri Lanka), AB de Villiers, Dale Steyn (both South Africa), Shane Watson (Australia), Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Dale Steyn (South Africa). 12th man: Tim Southee (New Zealand).