• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Telegram
  • Koo
  • Youtube
  • ଓଡ଼ିଆରେ ପଢନ୍ତୁ
Rajendra Prasad Mohapatra

Bhubaneswar: As many as six top teams of the State will vie for the silverware in the much-awaited Odisha Women's Football League, which will commence in the Capital City from tomorrow.

All the matches of the tournament, jointly organised by the Football Association of Odisha (FAO) and State Sports Department, will be played at the Kalinga Stadium and the Capital High School Ground.

"Odisha Police, Railways, Odisha Sports Hostel, OGP Club, SAI-STC and Rising Students are the teams in the fray for the tournament, the final of which will be played on March 27," stated FAO and Sports Department officials in a press conference on Saturday.

All the participating teams unveiled their new jerseys at the Kalinga Stadium. FAO secretary Ashirbada Behera, Odisha Olympic Association Secretary Abhijit Pal and Sports Secretary Vishal Dev were present during the ceremony.

"In view of the Covid-19 it is expected that the month-long tournament will create excitement among the sports lovers across the State," said Dev adding that the champions of the team will directly qualify for the forthcoming Indian Women's League (IWL).

All the players expressed their pleasure to return to the ground after a long hibernation due to Covid-19.

"We have resumed our practise. Hopefully, we will get back our rhythm soon and perform to the best of our abilities in the tournament," said Banya Kabiraj, captain of Odisha Sports Hostel.

(Edited By Suryakant Jena)

Other Stories