Mustaq Ali T20: Mumbai beat Odisha by 6 wickets

Cuttack: Mumbai posted an easy 6-wicket win over Odisha in the opening match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 Group-D League at Barabati Stadium here on Saturday.

Put into bat, Odisha lost wickets at regular intervals. Barring Abhisek Yadav, who scored the highest 33 runs for his team, and Bikash Swarup Pati (10) and Alok Sahoo (19), the rest of the batsmen failed to score double figure as the team folded at 91 from 17.4 overs.

For Mumbai, Dhawal Kulkarni, Shardul, Rohan Raje, Abhishek Nayar and Pravin Tambe bagged two wickets each.

In reply, Mumbai lost the early wicket of Akhil Herwarkar for only four runs.

However, Shreyas Iyer (16), AP Tare (32) and SD Lad (31 not out) took control of the game and ensured easy win for the visiting team by scoring 95 runs in 15.5 overs.

For Odisha, Deepak Behera and Basant Mohanty bagged two wickets each.

With this win, Mumbai has bagged 4 points while the host with their defeat have gone without any points.

Odisha will meet Uttar Pradesh in its next match at Barabati Stadium on Sunday.