Lahiri voted 2014 Asian Tour Players’ Player of the year

Kuala Lumpur: Anirban Lahiri has been voted the 2014 Players’ Player of the Year for his successful exploits on the Asian Tour, where he won two titles and finished second on the Order of Merit.

The talented Indian won his first title outside of India when he eagled the 72nd hole at the CIMB Niaga Indonesian Masters before going on to claim his second win of the year at the Venetian Macau Open, which increased his tally to five Asian Tour titles.

In a highly successful season, Lahiri contended for the Asian Tour Order of Merit crown before losing out to David Lipsky of the United States, who sealed the win in the second last event on the 2014 Asian Tour season at the Thailand Golf Championship.

Lahiri’s efforts on the Asian Tour earned plaudits by his peers who recognised his efforts and battling spirit, which he displayed in a stellar year where he notched six other top-10 results.

“I feel honoured and privileged to be chosen by my friends and competitors for this award. The previous recipients of this award include legends of Asian golf like Jeev (Milkha Singh) and Thongchai (Jaidee) and it’s inspiring to be counted among them,” said Lahiri.

“It’s very special when your peers confer an honour upon you. I feel deeply honoured by the faith they have shown in me. 2014 was truly a special year for me and I hope to kick on and continue to play positively in 2015 both in Asia and in Europe,” he added.