Ajay Shirke re-elected BCCI secretary

Mumbai: Ajay Shirke was on Wednesday re-elected unopposed as the secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) at its 87th Annual General Meeting (AGM) here.

No other nominations were received for the post. The AGM was chaired by BCCI President Anurag Thakur.

Shirke became the secretary in July after Thakur was elevated to the president’s post, vacated by Shashank Manohar who quit BCCI to become the International Cricket Council (ICC) chairman.

Shirke is also chief of the Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA).