16-member Odisha team against UP announced

Cuttack: A 16-member team led by Natraj Behera was selected today to take on Uttar Pradesh in the Ranji Trophy Elite Group A match commencing from November 17 at the VSS Stadium in Sambalpur.

Team`s captain, wicket-keeper batsman, Haldhar Das did not find place in the team after being suspended on the eve of Orissa`s match against Punjab at Mohali for the entire season on disciplinary grounds.

Subhrajit Sahu, the team`s reserve stumper, would keep the wickets as he did in Mohali. Meanwhile, dependable middle order batsman Niranjan Behera returned to the team after recovering from injury. Odisha was yet to get any point from its two matches played so far. It drew the first tie against Saurashtra at Cuttack and as per the new rules neither team could get any point as they failed to play one full innings each.

In the second match against Punjab at Mohali, the hosts trounced Odisha by eight wickets. The team: Nataraj Behera (Captain), Biplab Samantaray (Vice-Captain), Bikash Swarup Pati, Sumitosh Praharaj, Paresh Patel, Nirnjan Behera, Subit Biswal, Abhilash Mallick, Deepak Behera, Basanta Mohanty, Jayanta Behera, Lagnajit Samal, Alok Mangraj, Preetamjit Das, Dhiraj Singh, Subhrajit Sahu (WK).