10 athletes to participate in Paralympic Games

New Delhi: India will be represented by 10 sportspersons in the Paralympic Games, starting Wednesday in London. The event will conclude on September 9.

The contingent has been finalised, based on the quota places allocated to India by the International Paralympics Committee.

All the 10 athletes underwent training in India and special acclimatisation coaching camp was conducted at Balisdan Sports Village, London.

One athlete underwent special training in Germany. All the athletes have reported at the Games Village. Besides the team of 10 athletes, the Indian contingent consists of as many coaches and escorts and three officials, including the Chef-de-Mission.

The Government of India is funding the participation of the players, coaches, escorts and officials. There are five members in athletics, three in power-lifting, one each in swimming and shooting disciplines, who have got bi-partite entry for the Games.

The athletes of the Indian contingent are listed below:

Athletics: H N Girisha (high jump), Jagseer Singh (long jump), Jaideep (discus), Narender (javelin), Amit Kumar (athletics)

Power-lifting: Farman Basha, Rajinder Singh Rahelu, Sachin Chaudhary

Swimming: Sharath M Gayakwad

Shooting: Naresh Kumar.