Weather Alert: Thunderstorm and lightning alert issued for 12 Odisha districts

Bhubaneswar: The Bhubaneswar Regional Centre of India Meteorological Department (IMD) today issued thunderstorm and lightning alert for 12 Odisha districts.

As per the latest forecast, a moderate thunderstorm and lightning will occur at one or two places in the districts of Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Deogarh, Sambalpur, Angul, Rayagada, Koraput and Kandhamal between 1:30 pm and 5: 30 pm.

Similarly, the alert has also been issued for Sundergarh, Mayurbhanj, Kalahandi and Nuapada districts till 6: 30 pm today.

The IMD officials further advised the people in these districts to remain alert as gusty winds reaching a speed of 30 to 40 kmph will also prevail during the thunderstorm.