Two new Orissa High Court judges take oath

Cuttack: Justice Satrughna Pujahari and Justice Akshaya Kumar Mishra were sworn in as Judges of the Orissa High Court in Cuttack today.

Chief Justice Kalpesh Satyendra Jhaveri administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new judges at a formal ceremony held in High Court.

It is pertinent to mention here that Orissa High Court Registrar General Akshaya Kumar Mishra was the sole candidate who was found suitable by the Supreme Court Collegium out of the 12 names recommended by the Orissa High Court Collegium. As per a notification issued by the Rashtrapati Bhawan he was appointed Judge of the Orissa High Court while Pujahari has been transferred from the Madras High Court.

Meanwhile, the total number of judges at the Orissa High Court is 14 against the sanctioned strength of 27.