Tickets to RS for three newly elected members

Bhubaneswar: The two BJD candidates, Rabi Narayan Mohapatra and Dillip Tirkey and BJD backed Independent candidate A V Swamy were today elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha on the last day of the withdrawal of candidatures for the elections. The Returning Officer in-charge of the elections and the assembly secretary made the announcement regarding the elections of the three candidates in the late afternoon today.

The newly elected members of the Upper House of the Parliament collected certificates regarding election to the Rajya Sabha from the Returning Officer. Chief minister and BJD President Naveen Patnaik congratulated the three newly elected members of the Rajya Sabha.

The nominations of four other Independents candidates were earlier rejected for not having requisite number of proposers. The two major Opposition parties, both the Congress and the BJP did not put up candidates citing lack of numbers in the assembly thus paving the way for elections of the three new members in an unopposed manner.