Three police officials suspended following escape of 2 dacoits

Koraput: Three police personnel including two constables and one havildar were suspended today for dereliction of duty after two dacoits escaped from Jeypore Court premises yesterday.

The suspension order was issued today by Koraput SP, Kanwar Vishal Singh, informed Additional SP, V Raghunath Rao.

The suspended police personnel have been identified as constable Bhikari Nayak and P Gupteswara Rao and havildar Rajendra Kumar Swain.

According to sources, the constables and the havildar had taken the two accused – Lalbahadur Darji and P Pavan Kumar to the court. However, the duo escaped from police custody around 4 PM yesterday.

The incident has been flagged as a special case while two teams have been formed to nab the under-trial prisoners, Rao informed.

“The three police officials were escorting the accused. They have been suspended for dereliction of duty by the SP. The accused have 7 cases pending against them. The case has been marked as ‘serious’ and two teams have been formed to nab them,” Rao informed.