State to renew MoUs with 7 IPPs within 2 months: Chief Secy

Bhubaneswar: Odisha government on Wednesday decided to extend tenure of the pacts with seven independent power producers (IPPs) within 60 days, official sources said. 
"It is decided to renew the MoUs with seven IPPs which have reported progress. The seven IPPs will go to production by end of this year or early next year," said state's Chief Secretary B K Patnaik after Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik reviewed the MoU renewal process of power producing companies. 
The IPPs whose MoUs would be renewed were GMR Kamalanga Energy Ltd, Monnet Power Ltd, Lanco Power Ltd, Jindal India Thermal Power Ltd (JITPL), Ind-Barath Energy Utkal Ltd, Maa Durga Thermal Power Company Ltd and KVK Nilachal Power Ltd, said Energy Minister Arun Kumar Sahu. 
Sahu said the seven IPPs have made significant progress. 
Industrial Promotion and Investment Corporation of Odisha Ltd (IPICOL) has already taken stock of their progress at the ground level. He, however said that the lapsed MoU of Sterlite Energy does not need any renewal as the company has achieved full-fledged production. 
The state government had signed MoUs with 29 IPPs, envisaging a production capacity of around 37,000 MW. Of this only two MoU signed players- Sterlite Energy and GMR Kamalanga had started operations. Sterlite Energy has commissioned its 2,400 MW thermal power plant at Burkhamunda in Jharsuguda district. GMR Energy that has proposed 1,400 MW (4×350) thermal power plant at Kamalanga in Dhenkanal district has started production in its oe unit having capacity of 350 MW. 
Monnet Power Company Ltd, a wholly owned subsidiary of Monnet Ispat & Energy Ltd, hopes to commission its first 525 MW unit of its 1050 MW coal-based power plant by September this year. While Lanco Babandh Power is likely to start production in 2014, Maa Durga Pvt Ltd has set August 2013 to go for production of 120 MW capacity thermal power plant. KVK Nilachal Power Pvt Ltd has target of going to production by March 2014.