State govt effects major reshuffle in IAS cadre

Bhubaneswar: In a major bureaucratic reshuffle, the state government on Friday shifted nine District Collectors and seven secretaries.

Malkangiri District Collector R Vineel Krishna whose abduction by Maoists in February sparked a nationwide outcry, was among the nine Collectors and seven secretaries who had been transferred, official sources said.

Krishna, a 2005 batch IAS officer, was on leave ever since he was released by Maoist in last week of February after the state government entered into an agreement with the three naxal selected mediators.

Krishna was transferred and posted as director of Scheduled Tribe and Scheduled Caste Development department.

Besides, Krishna, Kandhamal district collector Krishna Kumar, whose work during the ethno-communal riot in 2008 was praised by Union Home minister P Chidambaram, was also transferred and posted as the collector, Ganjam district.

Ganjam collector V Kartikyan Pandian was transferred and posted as Private Secretary to the chief minister while Koraput district collector R P Patil was named as the new collector of Kandhamal district.

Others who were transferred and posted as collectors include- D V Swamy (Keonjhar), S Balwant (Malkangiri), Arabind Agarwal (Sambalpur), S P Mishra (Angul), R P Singh (Gajapati) and T S Ramachandra (Koraput).

The Panchayati Raj department secretary S N Tripathy was posted as the principal secretary in Rural Development department. RD secretary R L Jamuda was posted as the secretary of Agriculture department.

Energy secretary P K Jena was shifted to Panchayati Raj department along with his additional charge of secretary IT department. Chief minister`s Private Secretary G Mathivathanan was posted as Secretary Energy department.

R P Saha was posted as secretary Excise department while CTM Suguna had been posted as secretary Labour and Employment. Sanjeev Chada has been posted as Director Horticulture department.

Fisheries secretary S Sahu has been given additional charge of CMD, OMFED.