Shooter Shriyanka Sadangi to get Ekalabya Puraskar-2013

Bhubaneswar: International shooter Shriyanka Sadangi has been declared the winner of the prestigious ‘Ekalabya Puraskar’ for 2013 for her outstanding performance in sports.
Instituted in 1993 by Indian Metals Public Charitable Trust (IMPaCT), the award carries a cash award of Rs 2 lakh. The Ekalabya jury committee has also declared Odia sprinter Dutee Chand and weight-lifter Achytananda Sahu as citation winner which carries a cash award of Rs 50,000, a release issued by IMPaCT said. One of the most coveted sports awards, Ekalabya Puraskar is given to young sports persons every year.
Shooter Sadangi has brought many accolades including a gold medal in the Junior International Shooting Championship-2012 held at Suhl in Germany and another gold medal in the fourth Asian Air-gun Shooting Championship held in Kuwait in 2011.
Dutee Chand won two gold medals at the ninth National Youth Athlet Meet, Bangalore in 2012. Chand also achieved a gold and two silver medals at the 37th Senior National Sports Festival-2012 held in Ranchi, Jharkhand.
Weight-lifter Achyutananda Sahu won a gold medal in 2011 in Junior Men Weight-lifting Championship held at Capetown and another gold in Commonwealth Junior Men Weight-lifting Championship-2012 held in Apia.