Shakti Mohanty’s ‘Casino’ wins Time Pass Booker award

Bhubaneswar: Young writer Shakti Mohanty will receive the prestigious Time Pass Booker award-2017 for his story titled ‘Casino’. Similarly, novelist Badal Mohanty will receive the Time Pass Booker for his novel ‘Nattu’ for the year 2016.

Founded by writer-publisher Saroj Bal, the Bhubaneswar-based popular publication house announced its annual literary awards in Odia language on Monday. The publication house attempts to highlight dynamic and gifted Odia writers below the age of 45 through this award ceremony.

This apart, Bharat Majhi’s Majhi Geeta, Pragyashree Ratha’s ‘Darpan Sundari’, and Parambrahma Tripathy’s ‘Kichhi Kahibara Achhi’ have been selected for the Time Pass Bestseller award.

Ajay Khuntia will receive the Time Pass ‘Bahi Bandhu’ award for his patronage towards literature while Debasish Mishra will be awarded for his collection of poetry tiled ‘Daag’. Suryasnat Tripathy’s anthology of short stories titled ‘E Samparka Emiti’ will also be felicitated with Time Pass Swayamshree award as both of them have received Kendra Sahitya Academy awardIllustrious writers and veteran litterateurs from across the country will grace the 12th anniversary ceremony of the publication house during which the awards will be presented, the organisers informed.

Instituted in 2008, Sarada Prasad Mishra was the first recipient of the illustrious Time Pass Booker award.

The following editions witnessed writers like Satyapriya Mahallick winning the award in 2009 followed by Mamatamayi Choudhury in 2010, Tapan Mohapatra in 2011, Amaresh Biswal in 2012, Hiranmayi Mishra in 2013, Aditeswar Mishra in 2014 and Ramakanta Mishra winning the award in 2015.