Sambalpur to become Municipal Corporation

Bhubaneswar: Bringing good news for the denizens of Sambalpur, the State government has decided to accord corporation status to Sambalpur municipality. It was decided in a high level meeting chaired by CM Naveen Patnaik at Secretariat today. The major city of western Odisha would become the fourth municipal corporation of the State after Bhubnaeswar, Cuttack and Berhampur.
“Honorable chief minister convened a high level meeting today over the matter. Paying heed to the long standing demand of the inhabitants of Sambalpur, the CM has directed the officials of Urban Development department to expedite the process in this regard”, Finance Minister Prasanna Acharya, who was present in the meeting, said.
The corporation will include Burla and Hirakud NACs along with 12 gram panchayats located on the outskirts of the town, he added. At least seven panchayats of Dhanakauda, five of Maneswar block would come under the corporation consisting of as many as 3, 35761 population.
BJP has welcomed such decision, but demanded the city to be included under the Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JNNURM) while Congress has termed it as vote bank politics of the ruling party.
“It is a welcome step of the state government. But, the only status is not adequate for the people of Sambalpur. It needs to be included under central government sponsored JNNURM”, Sambalpur MLA and BJP legislature party chief Jayanarayan Mishra said.
Senior congress leader and Leader of Opposition Bhupinder Singh said, “The ruling party is playing a vote bank politics as the general election is coming closer. Playing tricks with the people of Sambalpur should be stopped”.