Ravenshaw Univ awards five honorary degrees

Cuttack: The Ravenshaw University, celebrating its sixth convocation ceremony on Tuesday conferred honorary doctorate degrees on five eminent personalities of Odisha who have made rich contribution to the public life and performed exceptionally well in their chosen fields.

They are- noted writer Sitakant Mohapatra, Odissi dancer Priyambada Mohanty Hejmadi, former principal of Ravenshaw University DC Mishra, linguist Devi Prasanna Patnaik and renowned Odissi vocalist Raghunath Panigrahi.

Besides, 57 students who have topped in various subjects in the previous academic year were also awarded gold medals while 18 others were given PhD degrees.

Speaking as the chief guest on the occasion, Union HRD Minister MM Pallam Raju said, “Education is not knowledge alone but also the capacity to utilise it. The quality of education depends upon the ability it impasse to make proper use of learning. In other words, acquiring knowledge coupled with ability for its proper implication is a real education.”

“During 11th five-year plan, a large scale expansion of new institutions for higher learning took place by creating 16 new central universities, 7 new IIMs, 8 new IITs, 10 new NITs and 2 schools of planning and architecture. During 12th five-year plan, we hope to consolidate all these institutions of higher learning and give a greater thrust with a quality focus on higher education,” Raju added.

He informed the gathering during the 12th five-year plan it has been proposed to create an additional enrolment capacity of 10 million students in India.

Presiding over the function, Chancellor and Governor of Odisha SC Jamir stated that the public investment in higher education should be increased to at least 1.5% of GDP.