RS members can now communicate in five more languages including Santali

Bhubaneswar: In a significant development, the secretariat of the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of the parliament will now provide simultaneous interpretation for five more languages including Santali, which is spoken in some parts of Odisha.

The facility will begin from the forthcoming monsoon session of the parliament scheduled to begin from July 18.

“Members of the upper house can communicate in any of the 22 scheduled languages listed in the 8th Schedule of the Constitution,” Vice President and Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu said.

Besides Santali, the four other languages which were given accordance for communication in the house are Dogri, Kashmiri, Konkani and Sindhi. The move comes after a panel of new interpreters in all these languages were formally inducted into the house after completion of their training.

Of the 22 scheduled languages, the Upper House had earlier established simultaneous interpretation service for 12 languages -Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.

Similarly, interpreters for five languages- Bodo, Maithili, Manipuri, Marathi and Nepali are also being deployed in the Lok Sabha.