We Report, You Decide

Rajgangpur chairperson loses confidence

Rourkela: Chairperson of Rajgangpur Municipality in Odisha's Sundargarh district, Sasirekha Samal lost her position following a no-confidence motion brought against her.
The block development officer of Rajgangpur conducted the vote counting process on Monday as per the directive of Odisha High Court, official sources said on Tuesday.

- Advertisement -

Samal, member of BJP, lost the motion 13-1, while five councillors abstained from voting. The councillors celebrated by bursting crackers and distributing sweets.
On October 6 a non-confidence motion was moved and voting was held. Thirteen councillors voted in favour of the motion. But the chairperson had moved Odisha High Court and obtained a stay on proceedings of the motion and hence the votes were not counted.
Subsequently the court vacated the stay order and directed District Collector Rupa Roshan Sahu to declare the results after the counting process, sources said.
Rajgangpur Municipality has 20 councillors – six each of BJD and BJP, three from Congress and five Independents.
Samal headed a coalition between BJD and BJP.
You might also like

Comments are closed.